habitat Netzwerk | Success Story – open.DASH
15513
page-template-default,page,page-id-15513,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-9.5,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

open.DASH

Challenge

Digitalization gets more and more part of the daily life in our homes. Intelligent devices, sensors and actuators help us to learn more about our environment and activities at home, but they generate a huge amount of data. These data can be visualized for various use cases like e.g. energy efficiency, comfort or security. In addition, the information can help to identify new automatization potentials.

The user needs are very specific and individual. They depend on a variety of different factors. So, there’s a big challenge for the visualization of Smart Home Data: Every user needs an individual solution which helps to adapt to personal information requirements and allows the user to explore their personal home.

Solution

open.DASH offers the possibility to customize and configure the Smart Home Interface to a huge variety of user specific requirements and demands. open.DASH operates as a hybride tool:

Many elements for data-visualization are already pre-defined and ready to use, like e.g. widgets for displaying the energy consumption. The user can leave them as they are or adjust them according to his own needs. Like using a construction kit, consumers can arrange their own dashboard.

Step by step they can create their own visualizations, explore data and add those visualizations to their dashboard. Our open.DASH dashboard system is independent of the most available Smart Home technology. For a variety of existing sensors and actuators interfaces are available in order to support universal integration in our system.

  • Pre-defined visualization elements for simple creation of Smart Home data views
  • Possibility to explore data and design individual visualizations independently
Approach

In cooperation with households that already use Smart Home systems, we elaborated data specific needs and potential value adds. In workshops and interviews we identified common and overlapping demands of end-users, for whom we could create and implement pre-defined widgets, that have been tested and evaluated in practice. In the context of a two-stage usability test an assistant module was developed and iteratively improved – supporting end-users now to create their own individualized visualizations.

Results

This is what our test household from Living Lab Siegen say about open.DASH:

„I like the design, it’s clearly arranged. (…) You can adapt your widgets and arrange many things.“

„The configuration process of open.DASH is – in contrast with other solutions – intuitively. It works quickly!“

habitat Netzwerk | Success Story – open.DASH
14892
page,page-id-14892,page-template-default,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-9.5,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

open.DASH

logosizeunisiegen
Herausforderung

Die Digitalisierung findet zunehmend Einklang in das Zuhause. Durch intelligente Geräte, Sensoren und Aktoren werden zunehmend Daten über die Umgebung und Aktivitäten innerhalb der eigenen vier Wände generiert. Diese Daten können für verschiedene Use Cases in den Bereichen Energieeffizienz, Komfort und Sicherheit nutzbar gemacht werden. Zusätzlich können durch die Transparenzschaffung neue Automatisierungspotentiale erkannt werden.

Die Anforderungen von Nutzern können dabei sehr unterschiedlich sein und hängen von verschiedenen Faktoren ab. Die Herausforderung in der Visualisierung von Smart Home Daten besteht darin, für eine individuelle Lösung den Nutzer bereitzustellen, die es ihm erlaubt seine Informationsbedarfe zu befriedigen und neue Anwendungsfälle zu explorieren.

Lösung

open.DASH bietet die Möglichkeit sein Smart Home Interface individuell an die eigenen Bedürfnisse anzupassen und zu gestalten. Dabei verfolgt open.DASH eine Zwei-Säulen-Strategie:

Viele Visualisierungselemente sind bereits vordefiniert und können frei verwendet und angepasst werden, wie zum Beispiel Übersichten für den Energieverbrauch. Nach dem Baukasten-Prinzip besteht die Möglichkeit sich seine eigene Smart Home Startseite individuell zusammen zu klicken.

Darüber hinaus kann der Nutzer Schritt für Schritt eigene Visualisierung erstellen und damit seine Daten explorieren und ebenfalls seiner Startseite hinzufügen. Unser open.DASH Dashboard System ist grundsätzlich unabhängig von der verwendeten Smart Home Technologie. Durch Adapter können verschiedene Sensoren und Aktoren in das System integriert werden.

  • Vordefinierte Visualisierungselemente zum einfachen Erstellen von Smart Home Ansichten
  • Möglichkeiten zur Exploration von Daten und freien Gestaltung individueller Visualisierungselemente
Vorgehen

Gemeinsam mit Haushalten, die bereits ein Smart Home System nutzen, wurden Daten-bezogene Anforderungen und Mehrwertdienste erarbeitet. Aus Workshops und Interviews wurden überschneidende Anforderungen identifiziert, für die vordefinierte Visualisierungselemente designt, implementiert und in Praxis evaluiert wurden. In einem zweistufigen Usability Test wurde ein Assistenten zur Erstellung eigener Visualisierungen iterativ weiterentwickelt und verbessert.

Ergebnisse

Das sagen unsere Testhaushalte aus dem Living Lab in Siegen über open.DASH:

„Das Design gefällt mir sehr gut, sehr übersichtlich. (…) Man kann ja auch viele verschiedene Dinge anpassen und einrichten.”

„Die Konfiguration von open.DASH ist im Vergleich zu anderen Lösungen intuitiv. Das geht rucki-zucki!“